Uganda Report Day 2: Meeting Sisters

Follow along with Dawn Patterson, our Director of HOPE+Sisterhood Uganda as she visits Uganda this week.

When God brings you full circle:

There are so many things I want to share with you about today. It was an AMAZING God filled day. Beautiful testimonies were heard, tears were shed for the broken, prayers were said and encouragement filled the air. But, it was a 13 hour day today and this mama is so very tired. I promise to share so much more but for now, I have one very special story I want to share.

Last April when I came to Uganda I visited the pediatric unit of a local hospital. It was one of the most heart breaking days of my life. You can read about that day here. I met this beautiful boy, John and his mother. I can’t begin to explain the pain and burden on my heart that day. I was visiting the hospital to get a better understanding of why the town of Mukono needed a medical clinic. That visit had nothing too do with Project HOPEFUL or the Hope + Sisterhood. The young Mama was in a dire place. She didn’t have a relationship with Jesus and she was lost.

Today, as we traveled to Mukono to meet with the sisters, we picked up a young mother and a boy who needed to be transported to the meeting for the HOPE+ sisterhood. It was John and his beautiful mama! They were both healthy and happy. Both Mama & John are taking their ARV’s and understand the importance of adherence. Most importantly, Mama had given her life to Christ and was attending church. She is also one of the “Mamas of HOPE” that was selected to be part of the HOPE + sisterhood, Uganda. UgandaDay2a

I knew God would make it clear to me who He wanted my sister to be. Today He spoke loud and clear. There are many, many more stories of women who need a sister. I hope you will be praying about the sister that God as in store for you. I believe in this partnership and I am so excited to see what God does in these precious women’s lives through you. He spoke loud and clear. UgandaDay2b

Leave a Reply

